top of page

Council elects new Mayor and Deputy Mayor 

Councillor Eoghan O’Brien elected as Mayor of Fingal. Councillor Tom Kitt elected as Deputy Mayor.

Fianna Fail Councillor Eoghan O’Brien was elected today as Mayor of Fingal at the first meeting of Fingal County Council since the recent Local Elections. Cllr Tom Kitt of Fianna Fail was elected as Deputy Mayor.

Cllr O’Brien, who represents the Howth Malahide Local Electoral Area, has been a member of Fingal County Council since 2007 when he was co-opted to fill the seat vacated by his brother Darragh following his election to Dáil Éireann. Originally from Malahide, he now lives in Kinsealy and works as a Business Development Representative with FMCG. Cllr O’Brien, who was proposed and seconded by party colleagues Cllr Darragh Butler and Cllr Adrian Henchy, received 23 votes. Fine Gael’s Cllr Tom O’Leary received seven, Sinn Fein’s Cllr Paul Donnelly received five and Cllr Paul Mulville of the Social Democrats received four. Cllr Kitt received 22 votes in the election for Deputy Mayor with Cllr Dean Mulligan (Independents4Change) receiving nine and Cllr Emer Currie (Fine Gael) receiving seven. Cllr Kitt, who represents the Ongar Local Electoral Area, is a new councillor who was elected for the first time last month. He is originally from Mountbellew, Co Galway and now lives in Clonsilla where he is a community activist. Tributes were paid to the outgoing Mayor, Cllr Antony Lavin, and Deputy Mayor, Cllr Grainne Maguire. Fingal County Council’s Interim Chief Executive AnnMarie Farrelly presented Cllr Lavin with a Commemorative Medal and a Photograph Album recording his year in office. Cllr Lavin thanked Cllr Maguire for her support as Deputy Mayor during the year and also his fellow councillors and the Chief Executive and staff of the Council for all the assistance they had given him. A video recording of the Meeting can be viewed at Before the meeting Certificates of Appreciation were made by the outgoing Mayor, Cllr Anthony Lavin, to outgoing councillors thanking them for their service. The former councillors who were present to receive their certificates were Anne Devitt, David O’Connor and Edmund Lukusa. The next meeting of Fingal County Council will be the June monthly meeting which will take place on Monday, June 10 at 5pm.

bottom of page